Hello Guest, please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Login with username, password and session length.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: background_assign help  (Read 1367 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
background_assign help
« on: May 25, 2008, 08:01:23 pm »
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3
Hi, I'm new here. I've a question about the background_assign command.

I want to swap two tilesets, because I would like to do a day and a night mode. The first exchange works well, but I've no idea how to change it back, because the original background is gone. The help file says that it makes a copy of the background, but this command has no return value. So I don't know how to address this copy.

I hope you can help me.

PS: I use GM 7.0, if this is important...
Logged
  • Hyruletales

Xiphirx

wat
Re: background_assign help
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2008, 08:09:42 pm »
  • Xiphirx
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3007
Not that I can be of any help with GM7, but I know King Mob uses the same technique so you should try to PM him. (don't worry he's nice)
Logged
  • For The Swarm
Re: background_assign help
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2008, 04:39:38 pm »
  • The Dark Lord is here...
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
You need three backgrounds. The first one is the one you use to tile the rooms. Then, you must have two more backgrounds one being a copy of the first and another being a recolor for night time.

Whenever you need to switch to nightime, just do this:
Code: [Select]
background_assign(Tiling_bg, Nighttime_bg);
And for returning to daytime:
Code: [Select]
background_assign(Tiling_bg, Daytime_bg);
Logged
Darth RPG - Feel Dark Side temptation

  • The Legend of Cerda Website
Re: background_assign help
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2008, 06:48:06 pm »
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3
Thank you so much for your help! It works perfect.

But I still don't know what to do with the copy, which is made by the background_assign command. I'm afraid that my computer is running out of memory if I don't delete it.
Logged
  • Hyruletales
Re: background_assign help
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2008, 10:59:41 pm »
  • Minalien
  • *
  • Reputation: +10/-1
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 2119
I'm sure a tileset isn't going to be a major memory problem for you to run out of.

Also, for future reference: wrong board.
Logged
Quote
There's such a double standard about religion in the modern world. Catholics can gather, wear white robes, and say "In nomine Patris, et Filii, et Spiritus Sancti" and be considered normal.

But if my friends and I gather, wear black robes, and say  "Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn", we're considered cultists.
  • Development Blog
Re: background_assign help
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2008, 05:44:29 am »
  • The Dark Lord is here...
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
BTW, you need the copy because you wouldn't be able to return to daytime if you went to nighttime without the copy.
Logged
Darth RPG - Feel Dark Side temptation

  • The Legend of Cerda Website
Re: background_assign help
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2008, 06:29:23 pm »
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3
Thank you for the help. It works fine and I've no problems so far.

Sorry if this was the wrong board, I didn't notice. Won't happen again. :-[
Logged
  • Hyruletales
Pages: [1]   Go Up

 


Contact Us | Legal | Advertise Here
2013 © ZFGC, All Rights Reserved



Page created in 0.432 seconds with 53 queries.

anything