Hello Guest, please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Login with username, password and session length.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Moving from RPG maker to Game Maker?  (Read 2104 times)

Moving from RPG maker to Game Maker?
« on: June 18, 2011, 05:15:21 am »
  • It's just Max.
Hey, does anybody know how easy it is to switch from working on RPG maker to working on game maker? I've been using RPG maker for seven or eight years, so I'm hesitant to switch, because I feel like I just want to make one game, and then I'll be busy with other things, and I don't know it switching programs is an undertaking that would be worth it. Is game maker easy enough to make a custom game without too much coding knowledge since everybody seems to have zelda engines?

Zhello

N.A.D.I.
Re: Moving from RPG maker to Game Maker?
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2011, 03:11:11 am »
  • L'homme avec beaucoup de noms.
I use to make games on rpg maker, but when I got the concept for my current Zelda game, in other words, how everything was going to be set up, it wasn't going to work on rpg maker.  I moved to Game Maker, it is a little hard to get use to but if you work around, learn coding, read scripts, etc. you will be able to get the hang of it.

I would say give Game Maker a chance, among the other game making programs, I consider this one a bit easier(well i haven't try the others though :p)
The IT Guy
Intermediate Coder
Linux is a wonderful thing
~Linkwolf48/Gumstone1080~

The Legend of Zelda - New Beginnings

http://zfgc.com/forum/index.php?topic=34986.0
1.6 Demo -
https://www.dropbox.com/s/56km0iadaras56g/LoZNB%20Game%20Folder.rar?dl=0

Side Projects:

Dragon Diary - Cybernetic Threat
Story: http://wiki.zfgc.com/Cybernetic_Threat

Aero88
ZFGC is like the Hotel California.  You can come in but you can never leave!

devianart: http://linkwolf48.deviantart.com/
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2011, 08:01:02 pm »
  • Let's do this.
I used the RPG Maker 2 years.