Hello Guest, please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Login with username, password and session length.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [DEMO] Link's Awakening  (Read 8972 times)

[DEMO] Link's Awakening
« on: May 01, 2011, 06:00:48 am »
I've only recently started working on this project, a few days I suppose. At first I was working on a Link to the Past clone, but it was very familiar territory for me, so I got bored. Link's Awakening was something a bit different, so I thought it'd be fun to emulate. Anyways, my goal is to create a clone of Link's Awakening. I'm not sure if I'll finish it, there is no amazing motivation or drive behind the project. I'm just having fun learning Java. Oh, ya, it's coded in Java. So Java 6.0 is required to try it out, speaking of which the download can be found here:

http://dustyshouri.dreamhosters.com/LinksAwakening.zip

This is my first time posting a project, so excuse any... mistakes. No one else has really tested the game out either(and like I said, I'm new to Java so excuse my lack of ability to debug issues), so I'm not sure how it will work on other computers.

What is currently supported is:
> Mostly done movement, closely emulating the movement of Link's Awakening. This includes collision detection, as well as more complicated half-tile collision(for example, doors).
> Entire island of Koholit has already been mapped
> Working midi music and sound, including looping and volume control.
> Functional inventory, and transitions. Q is to open. S and D are mapped to the item slots.
> Some very primitive tile interaction. S currently will destroy common bushes and rocks(for development purposes) which will later be mapped to the appropriate weapons. Also terrain effects Link in their respective ways. Grass will slow him down as well as walking on stairs. Shallow water will effect Link's placement(so he appears "lower" in the water).
> Animated tiles