Hello Guest, please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Login with username, password and session length.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Zelda slope sliding with this code?  (Read 2479 times)

Zelda slope sliding with this code?
« on: January 22, 2012, 02:21:41 am »
Hello, i have been trying to get a slope collision(top down, just regular 45 degree slopes) for a while but as i am not very good at collisions it is hard without rewriting alot of whats written. as of now i have
Code: [Select]
x += (place_empty(x+4,y)*keyboard_check( vk_right) - place_empty(x-4,y)*keyboard_check(vk_left) )*4;

y += (place_empty(x,y+4)*keyboard_check( vk_down) - place_empty(x,y-4)*keyboard_check(vk_up) )*4;
as my collision code, and i was wondering how to have this as the zelda style slope code also. what i mean by that is if im hitting a slope going up and to the left, and im just holding up, i will kind of slide against the slope at a diagonal way. does anyone know how to insert this in with the code above? also i have 4 different objects with the 4 directions of slopes. so yes. if anyone knows how to solve this please help or if anyone needs more information i will be happy to give some.
Re: Zelda slope sliding with this code?
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2012, 07:17:54 am »
First: I would suggest you look through this http://zfgc.com/forum/index.php?topic=38347.0 for a bit. You will learn a lot about how to do movement.

Second: Describe in simple words the complete effect of going up and down a slope.
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2012, 05:06:55 pm »
First: i have looked through that, and as far as i remember its a very complicated thing to learn from, expesially because i cant find anything on collisions that i even understand, and its hard to just copy peices of code or learn from it because of it. so i have disregarded the minish engine, and ill try again, but i doubt ill find anything to work with.
Second: im not sure what you mean by this.. but