Hello Guest, please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Login with username, password and session length.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: My Tree  (Read 1871 times)

My Tree
« on: July 14, 2010, 01:10:05 am »
  • Pichuscute
So, I have attached a tree I'm trying to sprite for a game I'm making in GM for the next GM Competition. Because I hate the GM boards with a passion, I decided to ask the nice people here for some help.

My problem is I want something pretty realistic (excluding the palette) and I don't know how to achieve it. I have limited spriting experience and am just not sure what I should try next. I started making leaves from some tutorial I found googling stuff, but they weren't much. The shading is too bold as well.

Can you guys give me some pointers?
« Last Edit: July 14, 2010, 01:31:28 am by pichuscute »

King Tetiro

Leader of Phoenix Heart
Re: My Tree
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2010, 09:12:35 am »
In terms of your shading, the light source should be on top of the tree. From my point of view the light source looks like its diagonal. Great effort though
  • Phoenix Heart
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2010, 10:44:09 am »
I agree, also you have not created a shadow for below the tree. I also think that there needs to be a shadow below the canopy on the trunk, near the top of it to show how the canopy blocks out the light.
  • Elliott Parkinson
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2010, 11:07:47 pm »
  • Pichuscute
Alright, I did some shading on the tree trunk (minimal because it looked off at first, wasn't sure how to shape the shading) and made lots of changes to the borders on the shading in the tree so that it looks more leaf-like.
It looks better...

Anyone have any ideas on how to make the leaves look more like leaves and less like a green circle? It looks alright now, but I'm curious on how others do it.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2010, 11:11:05 pm by pichuscute »
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2010, 11:40:36 pm »