Hello Guest, please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Login with username, password and session length.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: C#/XNA TypeWriter Engine  (Read 2748 times)

C#/XNA TypeWriter Engine
« on: February 26, 2012, 11:39:36 am »
So, I am at the point where I need to create a text engine for U.N. Squadron.  Now, I have very little experience with making a text engine that works like a typewriter.  I only modified one once for my old Myth of Heroa project.  So, I decided to take what i know at this point and apply it to a basic new typewriting engine.  I am sure there are good ones already floating around the net, but I am trying to figure it out without copy/pasting someone's code.

Anyway, check attachment if interested(contains source).  It works great at it's current stage.  However, I do not understand how to implement a perfect wrap around feature.  Should I wait to add a new line if the TestString.ElementAt(charPosition) == " " (a space).?  But then what happens if the person using said engine decides to add some long ass word towards the end of their wrap around length?

Example:
Wrap around length of 30 characters.
String to be drawn: Surprisingly, the clever voracious behemoth....

The wrap around would hit in the middle of the word "voracious"...which means it would be drawn off the desired area.  Would I have to add code that checks the length of the next word once the wrap length is neared?

BTW, this post got changed 3 times before I finally posted it as I figured some stuff out as I went along.

« Last Edit: February 26, 2012, 12:22:44 pm by Theforeshadower »
  • Super Fan Gamers!
Re: C#/XNA TypeWriter Engine
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2012, 09:04:41 am »
  • Minalien
But then what happens if the person using said engine decides to add some long ass word towards the end of their wrap around length?
Trust me, you're not going to need to worry about that.