Hello Guest, please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Login with username, password and session length.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Visual C++ 2008 Express Edition with Dark GDK = Good?  (Read 1596 times)

Visual C++ 2008 Express Edition with Dark GDK = ...
« on: May 31, 2008, 08:52:49 pm »
I recently installed this into the Visual C++ thing so that I can now use the GDK, but even so, I have not been able to find any good examples of its use to create 2D games (with the exception of the included examples, but these are not really helpful).  I have some knowledge with C++, and this seems to be a good step, but meh.  Has anyone used this, know resources for it, or have comments about it?   
Re: Visual C++ 2008 Express Edition with Dark GD...
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2008, 09:03:19 pm »
Eh, anything made for or by the people who brought us Dark Basic deserves to die slowly in a ditch. To be frank if your after 2D and you have knowledge of C++ I would go for a different library, SDL perhaps? Or if you want you can roll your own using OpenGL / DirectX, both are relatively simple.
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2008, 09:14:59 pm »
I mainly went with it as it was recommended as a link on the Microsoft download page when I downloaded Visual C++.  I could try OpenGL or SDL, but is it easier to use either of them in DevC++ compared to using them with Visual C++?
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2008, 09:49:41 pm »
I could try OpenGL or SDL, but is it easier to use either of them in DevC++ compared to using them with Visual C++?
Personally I would stick with Visual C++, DevC++ is horribly dated and has a great deal of instabilities in it.
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2008, 11:48:11 pm »
  • Minalien
Use Visual C++, I can't even fit the number of reasons for this in a single post.