Projects > Discussion

What do you think I should use?

(1/4) > >>

Hyperhal:
Well, in order to make my game, I'd need to figure out which programming language I'll be using.

I have no experience with any except Python and Perl.

Vote based on how easy It'll be for me to learn and use the language, and on how powerful the language is. I'm leaning towards C, as it can be ported to mostly all platforms, and thats is a major goal of mines.

Infinitus:
Well neither perl or python are like C (there not even programming languages, but scripting.). But if you know the basics of programming you shouldnt have a problem learning C, its pretty simple(though i advise learning C++ not C, as OOP rocks XD).

therabidwombat:
I agree with Helios, OOP will make your life a lot simpler. C++ is a good start, although if you're not very experienced with programming, it may be difficult to learn. If you want to make a game quickly, try GameMaker or another Rapid Development Environment. It may not be the best for cross-platformwise, etc., but it's simple. However, if you are good with programming, C++ is defiinitely a good place to start. (or, if you have someone who could help teach it to you.)

StarReaver:
OOP only makes your life easy sometimes.  Sometimes it complicates things, and is unneeded.  If you only know Python and Perl, I would suggest learning either Java or C...or if you don't want to get too difficult too fast, Visual Basic is a good choice (though it's fairly expensive.)

C is portable, but not completely.  The syntax is always the same, if it follows the standard, but the commands typically aren't, as they're defined in header files rather than in the compiler itself (which can make the programs quite small)