Hello Guest, please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Login with username, password and session length.

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Using VBA to rip sprites  (Read 8133 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Using VBA to rip sprites
« on: July 27, 2008, 11:51:52 pm »
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2245
Yesterday, I began playing around with the source code to VBA, and it got me thinking about how cool it would be if I could modify it to allow us to rip sprites more effectively.  Thoughts?
« Last Edit: September 28, 2008, 01:00:56 am by Zidane »
Logged

Mamoruanime

@Mamoruanime
Re: Using VBA to rip sprites
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2008, 12:17:16 am »
  • ^Not actually me.
  • *
  • Reputation: +9/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 9786
Do it, it's annoying to have to manually save each sprite from their viewer :(
Logged
Re: Using VBA to rip sprites
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2008, 06:42:13 am »
  • *
  • Reputation: +3/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3374
Do it, it's annoying to have to manually save each sprite from their viewer :(
haven't you used animget? It's still really slow though.
Logged
Quote from: Jason
Your community is a bunch of stuck up turds.
Re: Using VBA to rip sprites
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2008, 03:24:59 pm »
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2245


Here's a couple of screenshots, the red boxes indicate actual sprites as they are stored in the oam to which you might know stores it in bits and pieces, to remedy this I've added in some additional code that basically attempts to guess what sprites belong to what which in these screenshots is represented by a green border.
Logged
Re: Using VBA to rip sprites
« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2008, 03:43:51 pm »
  • *
  • Reputation: +3/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 6629
Nice work. Keep it up :D.
Logged
Re: Using VBA to rip sprites
« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2008, 06:16:59 pm »
  • Super Hero Time!
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 4859
You should submit this to the team that's working on VBA-M, since VBA is discontinued.
Logged
!@#$% I lost my entire post, god dammit.

Ahruon

I'm living in the tree in your backyard...
Re: Using VBA to rip sprites
« Reply #6 on: July 28, 2008, 09:41:20 pm »
  • Bring it on...
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 210
So let me get the stright.
You are working on the VBA so you can get sprites much more easy ?
Well... I haven't sprited in the VBA in like 3 months because it was really anoying...
So keep it up bro !!!!!
Logged
Re: Using VBA to rip sprites
« Reply #7 on: July 28, 2008, 10:24:13 pm »
  • *
  • Reputation: +2/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 280
Good idea and nice work so far. I'm looking forward to it, keep this up.
Logged
Re: Using VBA to rip sprites
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2008, 02:04:15 pm »
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2245
I now have it in a state where I can rip stuff.

To me however, that isn't good enough yet, as you end up with about 400 different sprites in no real order, plus none of it is aligned.
So I'm going to continue to work on it.
The next step will be to implement a method to tracker these sprite clusters and also to find a way to identify an track animations.
Logged

Ahruon

I'm living in the tree in your backyard...
Re: Using VBA to rip sprites
« Reply #9 on: July 29, 2008, 07:30:01 pm »
  • Bring it on...
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 210
That's judt one ?
So how many can u take ?
Is this going to be like animget ?
but it will only be to the figure you want ?  :huh:
Logged
Re: Using VBA to rip sprites
« Reply #10 on: July 29, 2008, 11:40:45 pm »
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 647
You should ask at tasvideos.org. Many members have knowledge of programming and the source code of various emulators. Some have also contributed to and/or made their own emulators.
Logged
Re: Using VBA to rip sprites
« Reply #11 on: August 03, 2008, 07:05:50 am »
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2245
(The animation may look a little bad, but that's more due to the program I used to create the animation)

Just a little update, I got the sprite tracking to work (albeit it's a little shitty), but as you can see in that top sprite I still have to work on aligning it properly as well as recording animations (I had to do a bit of searching for this one so I could grab it properly).
« Last Edit: August 03, 2008, 07:23:22 am by Windy »
Logged

Mamoruanime

@Mamoruanime
Re: Using VBA to rip sprites
« Reply #12 on: August 03, 2008, 07:13:49 am »
  • ^Not actually me.
  • *
  • Reputation: +9/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 9786
:D Coming along quite nicely WWFan :D
Logged
Re: Using VBA to rip sprites
« Reply #13 on: August 10, 2008, 06:45:37 am »
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2245

ok, another screenshot (if you could call it that)

It now aligns each animation perfectly.. if the object is not moving :P
Otherwise it'll end up doing this, which is unfortunate :(


(Again, ignore the fact that my animation program has screwed it up.)
Logged

Giverny

Christ on Acid
Re: Using VBA to rip sprites
« Reply #14 on: August 10, 2008, 06:51:03 am »
  • Bitte Scheiße
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 1159
great job :D
Now if only you could do this with desmume...
Logged
THEGivernyPROJECT
~LynkW-Surrender Global
  • Surrender Global Forums
Re: Using VBA to rip sprites
« Reply #15 on: August 10, 2008, 07:31:41 am »
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2245
DS Emulation is most likely too slow for this sort of thing.  This is actually a highly intensive process, it could be done in the future, but most likely not by me.
Logged

Mirby

Drifter
Re: Using VBA to rip sprites
« Reply #16 on: August 10, 2008, 07:37:46 am »
  • To bomb or not to bomb...
  • *
  • Reputation: +6/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 4162
was that ripped? If so, GOOD JOB!
Logged

Mirby Studios | Share & Enjoy now available! (Links above!) | Games I've Beaten
Quote from: Mamoruanime
I like-like it :D
  • Mirby Studios
Re: Using VBA to rip sprites
« Reply #17 on: August 10, 2008, 07:50:10 am »
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2245
yeah, I can pretty much rip what I like now.. as long as it's not moving :P
It still requires work though, as you still need to find the animation amongst all those frames, but once you've done that you're all set.



Logged
Re: Using VBA to rip sprites
« Reply #18 on: August 12, 2008, 08:05:26 am »
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2245
I've uploaded my present copy on to the site, which includes all I've done up until now, there appear to be a few differences when running it stand alone, but they don't appear to affect the functionality of the tool.

Nobody seems seen it on the site yet, so I'm just posting this as to let everyone know.


« Last Edit: August 12, 2008, 03:53:50 pm by Windy »
Logged
Re: Using VBA to rip sprites
« Reply #19 on: August 12, 2008, 04:17:09 pm »
  • Super Hero Time!
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Posts: 4859
Holy crap awesome dude, I'm going to download this right now <3
Logged
!@#$% I lost my entire post, god dammit.
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up

 


Contact Us | Legal | Advertise Here
2013 © ZFGC, All Rights Reserved



Page created in 0.07 seconds with 75 queries.

anything