Hello Guest, please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Login with username, password and session length.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: I want to get some C++ books...  (Read 2631 times)

I want to get some C++ books...
« on: September 13, 2007, 03:38:30 am »
Well, about a month ago,I started learning C++.  I downloaded and printed every article from the cprogramming website.
I got through several articles and became discouraged.  Well, since playing with Game Maker, I've decided to push
through the discouragement and get back into C++.

Now, I still very much consider myself a beginner.
I am looking for excellent C++ books for Beginners.  I do not want a book that treats me like a total dumbshit.
I want a book that will take me far into C++ maybe from Beginner--->Intermediate.
I am willing to spend $100 in C++ books.  I like illustrations showing me how/why I am doing what I am doing(If that helps).
I went to Amazon.com but every book I find has 4/5 stars and every review says almost the same thing.
"This book is great.  The best C++ book in the world!....Blah blah..."

What are ZFGCer's suggestions?  I am willing to get multiple books as long as the total does not get over $100....
If someone recommends a book and you approve, please say so.  If you do not recommend, please also say so,but do not turn this into a debate.

I am basically looking for a entry-level C++ book/s that will take me the farthest,but in the best possible way.
I am NOT looking for necessarily looking for C++ Game Programming just yet.
« Last Edit: December 25, 2007, 03:40:46 am by 4Sword »
  • Super Fan Gamers!
Re: I want to get some C++ books...
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2007, 07:53:55 am »
Go into a local bookstore and look at their selection. At least you can sample it before you try it. People's suggestions here will be the same as Amazon's. There is no one source of power for C++.
the a o d c
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2007, 08:56:37 am »