Hello Guest, please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Login with username, password and session length.

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Im new! A java programmer looking to make a zelda mmo.  (Read 11586 times)

unenergizer

Your local java programmer!
Im new! A java programmer looking to make a zeld...
« on: January 13, 2013, 05:16:58 am »
  • Java Programmer. Working on a MMO!
(this thread is not a joke, you read the title correctly)

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cEHN_FDwNKY" target="_blank">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cEHN_FDwNKY</a>

Hello,

I am new to this website and I would like to take a second and introduce myself.  My name is Andrew I am 25 and I work full time in the satellite technology industry.  I have been programming in java for about 14 months now and I am confident that I can start making games for java.

Now, to get me started on game programming theory, I have ordered 3 books from amazon.  These books cover the api and more importantly AI (artificial intelligence).  My goal is to build a "2D, top-down, zelda like mmorpg" developed in the Java programming language.  I estimate the overall project to take about 4 years if I do everything by myself.

Currently I am working on developing a "project workflow" to better assist myself with development goals and overall features.  However this is where I need Zelda game lovers to chime in.  Think of this game as a cross between World of Warcraft features with 2D zelda like graphics.  Thats right, quest with your friends and slay what is still to be decremented!

Finally, let me know what you as an individual gamer thinks should be in a zelda mmo.  What do you hate about mmo games? What do you hate (if anything) about Zelda games?

Thanks for reading!
-unenergizer / Andrew

UPDATE:
1/20/28 - Added new tiles to tile set and made a new preview image. Website now active.
1/20/13 - Added image to thread. New tiles made, displaying those now.