Hello Guest, please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Login with username, password and session length.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Bounce function.... it doesn't work!  (Read 1175 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Bounce function.... it doesn't work!
« on: June 28, 2007, 08:11:39 pm »
  • The king of Awesome
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 198
Well I need to bounce if I get hit and I touch a wall, I'll either go diagonally or just go streight in the opposite direction. I know it's this move_bounce_solid(1); but it don't bounce at all..
Logged

mit

Re: Bounce function.... it doesn't work!
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2007, 09:42:45 pm »
  • QBASIC programmer since age 4. Take that, world.
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1079
move_bounce_solid needs to be called when you want to bounce. So if you're only calling it once, that's your problem. Put it in the collision event, or in the step event if you want. If that's not it, then you need to tell us more.
Logged
Programmer / Spriter / Level designer / Game Director / Web Designer / Music Sequencer for
Random Highscore table:

Play the Kousou Arcade today!
  • Kousou Games
Re: Bounce function.... it doesn't work!
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2007, 04:27:21 am »
  • The king of Awesome
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 198
I would add it to the collision event but all it does is push me back..
Logged
Re: Bounce function.... it doesn't work!
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2007, 07:01:11 am »
  • *
  • Reputation: +3/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3374
more of the script would help.
Logged
Quote from: Jason
Your community is a bunch of stuck up turds.
Re: Bounce function.... it doesn't work!
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2007, 08:04:40 am »
  • The king of Awesome
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 198
I'm actually making a legacy of goku 2 engine and I studied how they bounced off other objects, so I made it easy on me by created a custom bounce system.
Logged
Re: Bounce function.... it doesn't work!
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2007, 04:51:29 pm »
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 252
Make sure the speed does not equal to zero.
Logged
The Legend of Zelda: The Spell Caster
Release Date: ?

I'm a faithful man! Don't be a whimp, fight for life.

Antidote

>.>
Re: Bounce function.... it doesn't work!
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2007, 12:02:51 am »
  • In all seriousness who's serious?
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1485
The bounce function is a bad way to do what you're wanting to do, just make a routine to do it.
Logged
  • Axiomatic Data Laboratories
Re: Bounce function.... it doesn't work!
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2007, 12:04:13 am »
  • Issac_Amisov
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3458
The bounce function is a bad way to do what you're wanting to do, just make a routine to do it.
I always use routines instead of bounce functions whenever I want to do something similiar to this. The bounce function isin't very good IMO.
Logged
Re: Bounce function.... it doesn't work!
« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2007, 12:43:04 pm »
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2890
The bounce function only works with the inbuilt variables for direction and speed. Doing something like

Code: [Select]
x+=walkspeed-currentfriction
Wouldn't work with Bounce.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up

 


Contact Us | Legal | Advertise Here
2013 © ZFGC, All Rights Reserved



Page created in 0.766 seconds with 53 queries.