Hello Guest, please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Login with username, password and session length.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Anyone good at html?  (Read 2238 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Ryuza

That one guy
Anyone good at html?
« on: February 18, 2011, 04:27:14 pm »
  • RyuKage2007
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 290
Hey all, I've been working on a site recently and I ran into a bit of trouble, the site is up and working fine but when I open it firefox and try to make the window thinner it sorta freaks out, it does something similar if you open it in any browser and shrink the window. I'm not entirely sure why it's doing it though and was curious if anyone might be able to help, heres the site:
http://rgc2.overfold.net/index.html

here is what it's doing in Firefox:
« Last Edit: February 18, 2011, 06:55:24 pm by Ryuza »
Logged
<- Koholint Island - MC Style  <- Link's Awakening Photo Recolors  <- Wind Waker 3D Resources <- Super Mario Bros Crossover
  • RyuKage2007's Youtube
Re: Anyone good at html?
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2011, 05:15:45 pm »
  • *
  • Reputation: +2/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1767
The easiest way I can think of is to make sure all your coding is valid by running it through http://validator.w3.org/ That generally helps, or will narrow it down as to why it could be displaying differently on different browsers. Be sure to validate your CSS as well. http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/

EDIT: Actually I just remembered there's a site that renders screenshots of a specified url on several different browsers. http://browsershots.org/
« Last Edit: February 18, 2011, 05:39:57 pm by Colbydude »
Logged
  • https://colbydude.com

Xiphirx

wat
Re: Anyone good at html?
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2011, 06:31:21 pm »
  • Xiphirx
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3007
Can you describe the problem more? :/ Screenshot perhaps? In Chrome, if it's too thin, the main content is shoved under the menu.
Logged
  • For The Swarm

Ryuza

That one guy
Re: Anyone good at html?
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2011, 06:54:27 pm »
  • RyuKage2007
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 290
It's a bit hard to describe, I added a screen of what it does in firefox to the first post, the fact that it pushes the main content down when you make the window thinner isn't too much of a problem I guess, I'm mostly worried about it acting up in firefox.
Logged
<- Koholint Island - MC Style  <- Link's Awakening Photo Recolors  <- Wind Waker 3D Resources <- Super Mario Bros Crossover
  • RyuKage2007's Youtube

Source

Internet Tough Guy.
Re: Anyone good at html?
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2011, 08:12:48 pm »
  • Things to see and people to do.
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2289
I'm using Firefox and it looks just fine on my end.
Logged
The very existence of flamethrowers proves that sometime, somewhere, someone thought to themselves "You know, I really want to set those people over there on fire." - George Carlin

(!@#$%)

Hear the haunting words (They'll find you alone)
lost children with no heart are crying (Turning their hearts into stone)
and you're the lost mother they're calling
Go now, run and hide (seek more than vengeance)
I hear them crying at night (your pain is their satisfaction)
outside when the planets are falling (for the rest of time)
They want to feel and know you hear them (Go now, run and hide)

  • http://giantcock.netne.net/
Re: Anyone good at html?
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2011, 10:34:04 pm »
  • *
  • Reputation: +1/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 446
I get this going on in Opera, maximized window, on standard netbook resolution.
Logged
Re: Anyone good at html?
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2011, 04:09:57 pm »
  • that old name
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 789
I was getting the same problem, but after making the following changes:

Code: [Select]
HTML Changes:
a. Gave your logo+navigation table these attributes: 'id="left"', 'width="260"'.

CSS Changes:
a. Replaced these properties of '#page': 'margin:0 auto;' replaced with 'float:left;'
b. Gave '#left' this property: 'margin-left:81px;'.

It now looks like the image below. Hopefully an improvement. It still does drop the page div down below the navigation table when resized enough, but at least it keeps the borders normal. It looks similar in IE6, IE8, Opera(v.10.?), Safari(v.?), and Firefox(v.3.5.16).
Logged

Ryuza

That one guy
Re: Anyone good at html?
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2011, 06:56:18 am »
  • RyuKage2007
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 290
I was getting the same problem, but after making the following changes:

Code: [Select]
HTML Changes:
a. Gave your logo+navigation table these attributes: 'id="left"', 'width="260"'.

CSS Changes:
a. Replaced these properties of '#page': 'margin:0 auto;' replaced with 'float:left;'
b. Gave '#left' this property: 'margin-left:81px;'.

It now looks like the image below. Hopefully an improvement. It still does drop the page div down below the navigation table when resized enough, but at least it keeps the borders normal. It looks similar in IE6, IE8, Opera(v.10.?), Safari(v.?), and Firefox(v.3.5.16).

Thanks, got it fixed.
Logged
<- Koholint Island - MC Style  <- Link's Awakening Photo Recolors  <- Wind Waker 3D Resources <- Super Mario Bros Crossover
  • RyuKage2007's Youtube
Pages: [1]   Go Up

 


Contact Us | Legal | Advertise Here
2013 © ZFGC, All Rights Reserved



Page created in 0.149 seconds with 53 queries.

anything