Hello Guest, please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Login with username, password and session length.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [Completed] Minesweeper  (Read 4155 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mit

[Completed] Minesweeper
« on: April 01, 2006, 07:16:24 pm »
  • QBASIC programmer since age 4. Take that, world.
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1079
I made my own version of Minesweeper in PHP! Now you can play minesweeper in the comfort of your own browser and with less features than the Windows one! Ontop of that, my algorithm for the cascading effect is unbelieveably memory consuming for the server, and may or may not run out of memory. Wanna play?


http://www.kousougames.co.uk/Minesweeper


If I ever have the effort, I may make an online highscore thingy so that this actually has an advantage over the windows one. But for now, it really doesn't.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2015, 01:21:20 am by 4Sword »
Logged
Programmer / Spriter / Level designer / Game Director / Web Designer / Music Sequencer for
Random Highscore table:

Play the Kousou Arcade today!
  • Kousou Games

bran371

Re: Minesweeper
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2006, 12:20:49 am »
Pretty neat. Cool job!
Logged
Re: Minesweeper
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2006, 07:14:06 pm »
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 563
Cool, maybe you should limit the max size :P that might help with how much memory it uses?
Logged

I ♥ Open Girlfriend (What!? I didn't add this.. must have been Solly!)
  • My DevArt Account
Re: Minesweeper
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2006, 07:22:42 pm »
  • The Broken King
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1259
I don't get it.

I clicked on the squares, and nothing happened. I right clicked on them...and nothing happened. How does this work?
Logged
  • Broken Kings [Temp Site]

mit

Re: Minesweeper
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2006, 06:38:51 am »
  • QBASIC programmer since age 4. Take that, world.
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1079
Hmm, should work. What browser do you have? The buttons are only form thingies.
Logged
Programmer / Spriter / Level designer / Game Director / Web Designer / Music Sequencer for
Random Highscore table:

Play the Kousou Arcade today!
  • Kousou Games
Re: Minesweeper
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2006, 06:57:54 am »
  • The Broken King
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1259
I'm using IE 6.0.
Logged
  • Broken Kings [Temp Site]

mit

Re: Minesweeper
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2006, 11:25:31 am »
  • QBASIC programmer since age 4. Take that, world.
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1079
Hmm... interesting... what size board did you set it to? Test it at 10, with 10 mines, and if that doesn't work I don't know. My algorythm sucks, and so very large boards crash it...
Logged
Programmer / Spriter / Level designer / Game Director / Web Designer / Music Sequencer for
Random Highscore table:

Play the Kousou Arcade today!
  • Kousou Games
Re: Minesweeper
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2006, 07:19:38 pm »
  • The Broken King
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1259
Okay, it works now, it just takes like 2 seconds to load after each click XD
Logged
  • Broken Kings [Temp Site]

mit

Re: Minesweeper
« Reply #8 on: June 19, 2006, 10:03:40 pm »
  • QBASIC programmer since age 4. Take that, world.
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1079
Sorry to bump, but I wanted everyone to know that now I've added that highscore table I promised: http://www.kousougames.co.uk/Minesweeper/?act=highscore
See if you can beat me  ;D
Logged
Programmer / Spriter / Level designer / Game Director / Web Designer / Music Sequencer for
Random Highscore table:

Play the Kousou Arcade today!
  • Kousou Games

Ben

Re: Minesweeper
« Reply #9 on: June 20, 2006, 02:06:02 pm »
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 437
You should write it in JS, cause then your server won't crash and you'll learn JS, lol. That's what I did >_>.
Logged
Want a place to upload your sprites and games for FREE? Look no further than GameDevotion

mit

Re: Minesweeper
« Reply #10 on: June 20, 2006, 04:35:42 pm »
  • QBASIC programmer since age 4. Take that, world.
  • *
  • Reputation: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1079
The only reason this crashes is because my method of clearing many blank squares is terrible. In the windows one, it adds each ajacent blank square into a queue, and then goes through each one doing the same thing again. Mine has a funciton that sets the squares around it to visible if they're empty and calls itself on them if they have no value (the value of the number of close mines, precalucalted at the start). This method is very lazy and slow, causing the sever not to crash, but to exceed the amount of memory allowed for this script to use. You can change this limit, but I'm not going to.
Logged
Programmer / Spriter / Level designer / Game Director / Web Designer / Music Sequencer for
Random Highscore table:

Play the Kousou Arcade today!
  • Kousou Games
Pages: [1]   Go Up

 


Contact Us | Legal | Advertise Here
2013 © ZFGC, All Rights Reserved



Page created in 0.321 seconds with 57 queries.

anything